Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So one of my friends showed me something on Tumblr recently that reduced me and her to, as John Green puts it, giant squids of anger.

I’m not joking, even though I’m making light of the matter by putting in a John Green gif. Have a look for yourself:

I cannot even begin to list my problems with this. I mean, the whole thing is just utter BS. The only function of women is to look pretty and have kids? What the HELL?!!?? I’m just sad that people like this still exist in the twenty-first century.

The whole thing doesn’t make any sense at all. The creator doesn’t make any attempt to back up these ridiculous assertions.

So let’s take this apart piece by piece.

“You have not been forced to die in war.” First of all, there are women in the army, and some of them have died in war. It is true that more men have died in war than women, but I do not concede that that is a measure of one’s worth. Also, clearly the maker of this image has not died in war. I, personally, would much rather be alive than dead in a war. Patriotism is overrated anyway.

You are not capable of performing the same tasks men do because you lack the ambition and devotion to do a good job at anything. This is why you get paid less.”  Wtf? I’m plenty ambitious and devoted, thank you very much. If anything women have to be more devoted because we get taken less seriously. This is one of those claims that has no truth whatsoever.

Remember when you weren’t allowed to vote? It’s because you lack the enough logical reasoning skills to take difficult decisions in a sound manner.”  Great job with your wording there. Clap. Clap. “The enough”? Really? I think they meant “make” also. Women are just as levelheaded as men. I think we are more so. At least those males of my age group are not for the most part. Though there’s hope for them, I think.

You have never ruled the world. Because you lack the enough physical strength and intelligence to lead an army or a nation.” I would like to point out here that no one – man or woman – has ever ruled the world. There were several men who did come close, but you might notice that they were all evil, Hitler particularly. Hmm…What women lack in physical strength we make up plenty in intelligence. So stop your mouth. (Or your keyboard).

“The only reason you need wimpy support groups (i.e. Feminism) is because of your primal instinct of inferiority.”  FEMINISM IS NOT A WIMPY SUPPORT GROUP. Go, be ashamed. Also, in early “pagan” cultures, women were the dominant group. It’s only since the rise of monotheistic religions (I think) that men have been considered “superior.” And I’d like to think that we’re shifting away from that.

“You have never invented anything worth mentioning during the last thousands of years of  recorded human history.

A list of things women have invented in the past 1000 years:

  • stove
  • dishwashers
  • globes
  • life rafts
  • fire escape
  • car heaters
  • medical syringes
  • windshield wipers
  • fridge
  • water heater
  • chocolate chip cookies
  • disposable cell phones
  • Bulletproof vests
  • Toilet paper holder
  • Submarine lamp and telescope
  • Ironing board
  • Home solar heating system
  • Gas heating furnace
  • Foldaway bed
  • Disposable diaper
  • Cobol (first computer language)
  • Circular saw
  • Rolling pin
  • Kevlar
  • Electric hot water heater
  • Elevated railway
  • Engine muffler

I think at least some of those are pretty important, hmm?

“Mathematics, philosophy, science, medicine, and all of the important building blocks of modern society were created by men.” Um, where are you getting your facts?

You are only to provide us men with your physical beauty. Which is the only worthy talent you possess besides bearing children. If you can’t do that you’re worthless.” This it the most infuriating part. Oh. my. God. are you so blind you can’t realize that women are human beings?!?!?!!? So, what, is a woman in her seventies who’s no longer physically attractive or capable of bearing children useless, even if her brain is as good as ever? Apparently according to this person.

And then, the clincher, the person who reblogged it writes, “I am not sexist, anti-feminine or whatever, but this was brilliant and absolutely true and I had to post this. I would like to see what women have to say on this.” Excuse me, that’s about as sexist as you can get without wanting to imprison women in a dark hole forever or something. Well, I said something on this all right.

I think my friend is going to make a vlog about it. I’ll post it here when she does.

I would love to hear other arguments against this (or for it, I suppose). Though I’d like to think that not many people like this exist in the modern world anymore.

