Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Fault in Our Stars:

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” (pg. 125).

“That’s the thing about pain,” Augustus said, and then glanced back at me. “It demands to be felt.” (pg. 63).

““Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.” (pg. 233).

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” (pg. 33).

That’s what John Green’s books do to me. He’s most certainly my favorite contemporary author, and his books are so. freaking. good. My favorites are The Fault in Our Stars, Paper Towns, and Looking For Alaska, although I think the most reflective and “deep” of all of his novels are TFiOS and Looking For Alaska. I have the box set, with signed copies, and it is just gorgeous.

I love that John Green writes YA fiction, and yet it is not mindless, and it is beautiful. Perhaps they are a bit simplistic, and maybe twenty years from now I won’t love his novels anymore, and maybe twenty years from now they will be forgotten, like so many other books, but somehow I don’t think so.

I don’t have much to say about John Green at the moment; you can read my reviews of his books on my other blog (updated reviews of Alaska and Katherines to come). I just wanted to post this. Check out the poll too.

The Fault in Our Stars

